Bishop’s Stortford Hockey Club
A Brief History
The Club is proud to be entering its seventh decade, having originally been formed in 1948.
Little hockey was played prior to this when the then local club played as East Herts HC. Home games were played at Cricketfield Lane, Hockerill Athletic Club and Sawbridgeworth. Barely able to raise a team in the early days, players had to rely all too often on getting to away fixtures by train and taxi due to the lack of motorcars after the war.
In 1969 we were elected to the Hertfordshire County League and the East Central League in 1972. Promotion to the East League was gained in 1975. Our successes over the years include County Champions in 1974, 1981 and 1986, East runners-up in 1982 and H.A. Cup quarter finalists in 1982 and 1986.
Later successes include the integration of the Ladies Hockey Club and our pitch partnership with Hockerill Anglo European College.
The Club now boasts 10 teams, including 5 ladies sides, 5 mens sides, as well as indoor and mixed, in addition to our thriving colts and junior sections.